Touring Through Blogland

Hi Everyone

Welcome to Monday and more summer sun! (I hope it is sunny where you are!!) Today I want to share with you my blogging tour which I joined last week. I am fairly new to blogging and joined Building a Creatively Made Business with Jeanne Oliver. It was during this e-course that a fellow Canadian popped by to say hi! Her name is Marie and she is at  http://www.interiorfrugalista.com/

What a great meeting as I had been looking at DIY and upcycling blogs but to meet a fellow Canuck who loved it as much as me…well….It was a dream come true!………plus she is a whiz at blogging, a true inspiration and a whiz at taking furniture and breathing new life into it. Marie invited me to participate in this tour through blogland and I am grateful for the opportunity.

On with the tour:

vintage collage

Furniture MakeoversWhat Are You Working On Right Now?

I was so impressed by Marie’s painting of a worn out old kitchen that I decided to take it on myself. Our kitchen is 1980’s oak and really tired. I am in the process of painting the cupboards, distressing them and making them look shabby chic. Since it is my first try at it, I am really taking my time. When I am not doing this, I am baking or canning since my garden tends to be producing a little more than normal and I can’t enough the zucchini fast enough!!!

IMG_0191This is still in process so hop on by in two weeks to see the finished result! It is looking amazing.

How Does My Work Differ From Others In this Genre?

I honestly have no idea. My focus is on a great “find”, ie. an old dresser, desk etc that needs some TLC, I patch and sand and while I am doing that I decide what colours are going to work and bring out the best in each piece. (And  a little buzz…I use Country Chic Paint….a chalk and mineral based paint for all my work)

Circa 1980s Repainted DresserDSCN5635

Why Do I Write/Create What I Do?

I write as an outlet for my own thoughts and hopefully what I have to say may resonate with someone out there who shares the same passion for  furniture/vintage/upcycling . By day I am an Anglican/Episcopal minister and sometimes my work, although incredibly rewarding, can also be daunting. Writing for this blog allows me to engage with people in a different way.  As far as creating, I have to be honest, my creativity is self induced to get me through what I call “the witching hour” from 4-8pm. I think it started when my kids were young and cranky during this time. I found being busy with them, and now with myself, helps me to relax and unwind.  I also like to visit thrift stores, markets, any place where there is a piece that speaks to me and shouts “bring me home”!!

Stencilled chalkpaint table

How Does the Writing/Creating Process Work?

Deadlines are a great way for me to become creative. I wish it were more ethereal than that but it isn’t. Having a fair to attend, craft show, company over, tour through blogland…….these are ways I keep the creative juices flowing. I also love the feeling of having something have a beginning and an end. In ministry, things tend to be more cyclical and you have to be able to come home from work knowing there are a bunch of loose ends that cannot be completed. When I paint and repurpose a piece of furniture, there is a sense of gratification and that makes me want to create more.

So that brings me to the end of what I do, now let me introduce you to two amazing bloggers. They are  newbies like me but oh so talented. They will be joining this Blog tour on Monday July 28 so  be sure to hop on over to their blog to learn more about them next week.

Let me introduce Ursula of Light, Lovely, Designs.She is a beautiful artist and her work is amazing. She has a wonderful blog http://uwoll.blogspot.ca/

 

I am a freelance artist, teacher and interior designer.  I have painted for as long I can remember, majored in art through college.
Have taught both children and adult drawing and painting classes.
Author of several Decorative painting books and other publications.
My favorite medium is watercolor.

Let me also introduce:

Becky Jason Schenewark of    www.rebekahofschenewarkfarm.blogspot.com

She is an amazing photographer and artist. I invite you to check out her blog!

Real Housewife of Benton County

I’m 33. I have a bachelor’s degree in Environmental Design (interior design + architecture) from the University of Missouri (go tigers!) but I currently am a stay at home mom to my four kids + two step kids ranging in age from 18 years old to 3 months old. I’m married to a cattle farmer (!) God and my family are my top priorities and when I’m not busy with all of that I invest my spare time in my photography and calligraphy. Instagram: @bexinthecountry

 

Thanks for joining me on this blogland tour, remember to check out Ursula and Rebekah!

2 responses to “Touring Through Blogland

  1. I’m so thrilled Wendy that you joined the blogland tour and it was great getting to know you better today! I had no idea you were a Minister by day. You do beautiful work, as is evident by your blog. Have a fantastic week 🙂

Leave a Reply

