Handle Help Needed!

I love using chalk and mineral based paints! I love taking an old piece of furniture (preferably something I have “found”) and giving it new life. This dresser was first purchased on the west coast when I was a newly wed. I really was into antiques and this gem was solid wood! I sanded it down and varnished it! Yeah!!! Fast forward two decades and it looks like …..well it looks brown and that just isn’t kosher any longer.

antique dresser 04

As you can see, over the years the handles have come loose and I have been too lazy to fix them. Back in the 1990’s these handles were considered stylish. They are brass with a ceramic centre. I am just wondering if I should paint them or go looking for some vintage handles.

antique dresser 02I gave it a couple of coats of chalk paint and then distressed it with sandpaper and finished it with wax. What do you think?

chalk paint dresser

I love the look, very shabby chic,  but here is the problem, what do I do for handles? I am still stuck and not sure what would look best. What do you think?

 

4 responses to “Handle Help Needed!

  1. Hobby Lobby is always the first place I look for knobs. The heavy, ornate iron ones look amazing painted then scuffed up. Can’t wait to see what you decide!

  2. I would paint the handles and wrap twine around them. I have found it real hard to replace old furniture hardware because of size. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

